Seriously? (Wanted Priest Edition)

When you write a series like this, it’s only a matter of time until you yourself do something dumb enough to earn an entry.  This week, I managed to do just that.

It all started with a For The Horde raid that was forming up.  I whispered the Raid Leader for a slot, since I have never actually killed the four Alliance leaders on Vess, but they apparently were full.  Having nothing better to do at the time, I decided to tag along with the raid, in case a slot opened (someone is always afk or offline).  I also thought that it was possible to get credit for the kill even though I wasn’t in the raid, by dpsing the bosses.

I am sure some of you can see where this is going, but I will continue.

The raid finds me out on the docks in Darkshore, and proceeds to the Exodar in orderly fashion.  I bebop along with the pack and head down into the belly of the ship where the raid engages the NPCs that chill with Prophet Velen.

Being a good Disc Priest, I lob a couple of dots at Velen before I start healing people.  A minute or two later, the boss goes down, my achievement pops, and the raid takes a mage portal to somewhere, leaving me to hop a boat back to civilization.

As I head out of the Exodar on my mount, I get a whisper informing me that I have achieved hated status with the For The Horde raid. 

Huh?

Apparently world raid bosses, contrary to my earlier belief, act just like normal mobs, in that only one person, party, or raid group can get credit for killing them. 

And apparently, no one in the raid actually pulled Velen during the opening 10 seconds of the fight, when the Wanted Priest decided to dot up the Prophet.

And apparently the entire raid didn’t recognize during the couple of minutes it took to kill the Prophet that the Prophet was grayed out for them, having been tagged by another player.

The end result was that none of the members of the raid got credit for the Prophet Velen kill.  But I did.

So yeah, I totally ninja’d a Prophet Velen kill from 40 players on my home realm.

(And you wondered why I am a Wanted Priest.)

Seriously?

5 comments so far

  1. Fayé on

    Hey Vess!

    You’re bad!

    😛

    • wantedpriest on

      How is that guest article coming Fayé?

      Vess

      • Fayé on

        Heh?

        You should have just told the you had a vendetta against Velen since he killed you earlier when we were doing Wrath of the Horde.

  2. Erinys on

    This is clearly the perfect illustration of “he/she who hesitates is lost” and therefore I can’t bring myself to feel any sympathy what so ever for the raid.

    Well done.

  3. Panderia on

    Well, I can understand their frustration but it’s the sort of thing that is a simple mistake. It was like you intentionally ran along with them to ninja their boss. It sucks that it worked out that way but if they don’t understand how simple a mistake it was then they are kinda foolish. It’s like the time I didn’t play WoW for a year and forgot that dragons cleave and ran WITH the tank to Onyxia.. I mean. Stupid mistakes happen >.>


Leave a Reply

