Arena Season 8 Disc PVP Spec

Season 8 begins next week, and I think I am ready to get back into the arena on a consistent basis.

Gearwise, I am 4/5 Furious 1/5 Relentless, with Furious offset pieces in all other slots, with the exception of my rings and weapons.  I am using Marrowgar’s Frigid Eye and Ashen Band of Unmatched Wisdom in lieu of PVP rings at the moment, because they are just so damned good.  I also picked up a Mag’hari Chieftain’s Staff off Saurfang in ICC-10 the other day, and dropped 2 stam gems into it for my PVP set, till I can get something better.

Here is the spec I will be running this season:  Season 8 Disc PVP Spec

I ran a few arena matches last week with the new spec, and have been grinding some BGs lately to stockpile honor.  The build is less mana efficient than the starter build I recommended, but is much more versatile from an offensive standpoint. 

This spec will allow you to actually apply some offensive pressure when your team needs it, with faster Smites and Holy Fires, further boosted by Power Infusion when necessary.  (Penance followed by SW:D is probably still your best offensive burst combo though.)  You can also use PI with Mana Burn to soften up a Resto Druid or Healadin for your teammates.   

It will be interesting to see how the new resilience changes work out for healers.  It has been pretty rough the last couple seasons, with burst damage being so frakin high.  I don’t expect that the resilience change will push dps types to stack any more resilience than the minimal amounts they already do, but players who are running with 900+ resilience (i.e. most healers) should probably see some benefits in terms of survivability.

At the end of the day, I think the resilience change really favors CC teams.  Teams will find it easier to CC an opposing healer compared to focus firing the healer, as was customary in the past few seasons.  So look for more cyclones, blinds, fears, hexes, etc headed your way.

I am also toying with the idea of making a run at the “Of The Horde” title.  My tanking partner, Karinthanis, has the Argent Champion title, and once said that it was the only one that ever really appealed to him.  Although I have earned a few titles, I have never found one that I cared about displaying. 

I would definitely display “Of The Horde” if I earned it though.  The time committment is staggering, but how awesome would that be? 

I may try dipping my toe in the water by going for 150-250 HKs a day for a week or two to see if I could handle the grind.  I am at 12,863 HKs at the moment, so hitting 25,000 by April would be a decent benchmark.

I’ll keep you posted.

Vess

2 comments so far

  1. wantedpriest on

    Update – 3 weeks have passed since I wrote this post, and I am now sitting at 15,429 HKs. That makes my per day average around 125. It is slightly less that I had hoped for, but I think the numbers are a bit lower than what I am capable of. (I live in New Orleans, and the Super Bowl and Mardi Gras have limited my playtime recently.)

    I think 25k is still an attainable goal by April though, so I will focus on hitting that benchmark.

    Vess

    • Priesty on

      Good luck and thanks for the posts!!


Leave a Reply

