I Think My Inner Loot Whore is Dead

I keep reading about how everyone loves the new LFG tool, and I get the fact that you can earn 2 Emblems of Frost by doing a random heroic everyday, and ridiculous amounts of Emblems of Triumph, but that still isn’t enough to interest me in going back and facerolling the same heroics that I have been running for the past year.

And the weekly raid quest makes me start counting how many different ways I can imagine killing myself.  (I won’t tell you how high the count can get.)

Maybe I will eventually get far enough behind on Emblems of Frost that I will start doing them, but for now I have absolutely no interest. 

I suspect on some level, I am resentful that Emblems of Triumph, which actually required some degree of skill and effort to acquire (up until two weeks ago), are now falling like leaves in Autumn.

I also think that the sheer number of Emblems of Frost required to pick up all the tier 10 gear has me a little shell-shocked. What it boils down to is I think my inner loot whore is dead.

I got the 251 ring last night after my Ashen Verdict reputation reached friendly, and I was like “meh”. 

Our guild’s continuing DKP drama didn’t even phase me last night either.  (Our guild uses DKP for 25-man loot, but DKP is earned through both 10 and 25-man content.  Team Alpha has cleared all available bosses in ICC 10, while Bravo is stuck on the first boss.  So when we down 25-man bosses, its only members of Team Alpha that get the loot.  The imbalance has been so bad at times given the gap between the two teams’ progression, that I have seen members of Team Alpha shroud twice in one night, and still have more DKP that members of Team Bravo.)

Watching all the 25-man loot go to the people who are already clearing all the 10-man bosses, pushed a couple people over the edge last night.  It didn’t help that the members of Team Alpha seem oblivious to the fact that others are upset at the imbalance, and that their prattling on in vent about how good/bad the new epics look on their toons really doesn’t help.

None of that really bothered me though.  I mean, I think the DKP mechanics are pretty fucked up, and that the damage those mechanics are doing to the guild is just getting larger and larger, but I just didn’t give a shit last night. 

Maybe it has something to do with the fact that getting to ilevel 232 is stupidly easy right now, but getting to 264 is fairly hard, that has me so unmotivated to move from my current perch at 245.

Who knows.

Vess

(Next post will be more upbeat, I promise.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

