Battleground Healer v3.1

After testing out Holy as my dual spec, and being pretty underwhelmed by it for heroics and 10-man healing, I decided to take the plunge and spec for Disc PVP.

Here is the battleground healer spec I am running.  Disc PVP spec

I am referring to it as a battleground healer spec, because I intend to only run bgs and Wintergrasp for the time being, and focus on healing and/or priest tanking, as opposed to dps.  This is not the spec I would/will be using for arena.  (We’ll talk about arena later, or maybe sooner if one of our DKs who is looking for an arena partner finds out that I am building a pvp set.)

The goal here is to get a feel for the pvp scene at level 80, and farm enough honor and marks to grab some respectable gear.

Since I haven’t done any pvp since Wrath was released, I was starting from scratch on my gear.  (For the record, no, I am not one of those guys that will just head into a BG with his shiny pve gear and pve healing spec, but you knew that already.)  Fortunately for me, I was sitting on 130-ish Emblems of Heroism, and am at  450 Jewelcrafting and 444 Tailoring.  So in the span of one evening, I was able to cobble together the following starter set:

Head:  Savage Gladiator’s Satin Hood

Neck:  Sky Sapphire Amulet

Shoulders:  Savage Gladiator’s Satin Mantle

Cloak:  Cloak of Crimson Snow

Chest:  Frostsavage Robe

Wrists:  Frostsavage Bracers

Gloves:  Valorous Handwraps of Faith

Waist:  Frostsavage Belt

Legs:  Savage Gladiator’s Satin Leggings

Feet:  Frostsavage Boots

Weapon:  War Mace of Unrequited Love

Off Hand:  Handbook of Obscure Remedies

Wand:  Rod of the Fallen Monarch

Finger:  Runed Mana Band

Finger:  Runed Mana Band

Trinket:  Medallion of the Horde

Trinket:  The Egg of Mortal Essence

(Includes Arcanum of Dominance, 3x Mystic Dragon’s Eye, Lightweave Embroidery, Sapphire Spellthread and various sundry enchants and gems.)

This set gets me up to 581 resilience, which seems to be enough for me not to get 2 shotted by most dps. 

I should have enough Emblems of Heroism for the Savage Gladiator’s Satin Robe by Wednesday or Thursday, but I might be better off (in the very short term) with the +75 stamina set bonus from having 4 pieces of Frostsavage gear, compared to the -2 seconds to Weakened Soul debuff if I add the 4th Savage piece.

I’ll do a breakdown of the choices I made on my spec in my next post.  Till then, play some frakin defense, and quit fighting on the road in AB! 

Vess

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

