Vesserion’s Wish for Cata

OK, listen the fcuk up Blizz, here is what I want in Cata:

BG scoreboards that reflect shield absorbs.

I could go on and on about other things I want to see change, or stay the way they are now, but make this one adjustment, and I will give you a pass on the rest.

I am so sick and tired of busting my ass on the front lines keeping my teammates alive only to see my healing done below other healers’ numbers when the scoreboard pops up. 

Yeah I’m looking at you, you frackin tree.  Double my healing done in furious gear.  Bullshit!

The scoreboard is supposed to give you an idea of how you compare to the other players in the battleground.  It’s not a perfect system, and as Cynwise points out it could be a hell of a lot better, but at a bare minimum it needs to be able to count healing numbers correctly.

Currently, shields are not counted as healing on the battleground scoreboard.  And for a Disc Priest, that means that a very significant portion of the effective healing done isn’t being recorded.

As a result, it is not possible to use the battleground scoreboard to compare a Disc Priest to any other healer in the same battleground, other than another Disc Priest.

I don’t heal for the glory, or for the meters, but I do like to look at the board at the end of a battleground and see a quantification of the contribution I made.

I also really like to be able to tell the bg chat ranters to check the board and see who is at the top for healing done before they start criticising the heals.  (On the rare occasions that someone actually criticises the bg healers.)

Healers win bgs, and healing is often a thankless job.  The last thing that PVP Disc Priests need is for the scoreboard to misrepresent their contribution.

Fix this Blizz.

Vess

7 comments so far

  1. Zeth on

    I love the times when the BG is over we have a good number of healers and I still top the charts.. makes you wonder what the other healers were doing! Though that’s rare.

    What I do these days is run Skada, it’s a recount-like mod that counts absorbs in its healing meters. While obviously it’s not going to pick up everything that’s going on in the battleground since you can’t be everywhere at once but it’s good to track your own personal healing.

    So whenever someone points at the healing charts at the end of the BG, I can broadcast my absorbs/healing results and show people my true healing contribution. 9.9 times out of 10 you’ll find yourself matching the top healer on the chart often times surpassing them.

    • wantedpriest on

      Zeth – I have been using the recount add-on for shield absorbs, but I haven’t updated it in a while, and it isn’t functioning atm. I should get it back up, just so I can get an estimate of what percentage of healing my absorbs generally constitute. (Before skada and recount guessed absorbs, the rule of thumb was 30% additional healing due to absorbs in PVE, but that percentage might be on the low side for battlegrounds.)

      Disc Priests have been fighting negative perceptions of the spec for almost all of WotLK, and it would be nice if we didn’t have to link skada in bg chat to show our true contribution. This is especially true looking forward to rated bgs in Cata, when performance measurements will take on a whole lot more meaning.

      Vess

  2. Cynwise on

    Shielding is yet another thing that’s left out of the BG scoreboard that needs to be there for making any judgement about people’s performance. A raid leader who only looks at your HPM rate when comparing Disc priests to anyone else is doing a bad job; same thing for a BG leader.

    The biggest problem with using Skada, Recount, and other parsers is that they are only really accurate for you in a BG. Too many things happen outside your combat log to make them into a viable tool for comparison.

    (That said, all that juicy data *could* be made available at the end through an API, which would be awesome.)

    I’d love to see this added in, somehow.

  3. Zeth on

    Vess – yeah I agree it’s not really a solution, just a temporary fix that shuts up the people who feel like criticizing the healers =p

    Thankfully for me, being in a large pvp guild devoted to premade BGs, I won’t have to worry about pug criticism in rated BGs. I suspect a lot of people who are serious about pvp will end up in guilds capable of running highly organized premades.. at least if they wanna make progress – I’d love pug BGs to become a thing of the past!

    Cynwise – Agree as well, though I generally use the BG chart to measure healing of everyone else (except other disc priests), and just use skada for my own results as I know they’ll be the most accurate.

  4. Fayé on

    Stop focusing on the board. :P

    I don’t top damage on my rogue. I won’t. I stun, cc, etc. That won’t show on the board. Only so much the board can tell you and people should just stop focusing on it.

  5. [...] Tag: BGs, Disc Priest, healing, PvP / Add Comment Vesserion over at The Wanted Priest wrote an article not too long ago about the wish for a BG scoreboard that reflects shield absorbs [...]

  6. warsongpriest on

    Referenced this post in a recent blog post of mine. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

